Federal Funding Now Available for Manitoba Communities

Photo: Doug Dobrowolski, President of the Association of Manitoba Municipalities, the Honourable Shelly Glover, the Honourable Stan Struthers, Joyce Bateman, MP and Larry Maguire, MP at the announcement in Winnipeg.

Ottawa- Larry Maguire, Member of Parliament for Brandon-Souris, the Honourable Shelly Glover, and the Honourable Stan Struthers, celebrated an agreement for the renewed federal Gas Tax Fund that provides predictable, stable funding for public infrastructure across Manitoba.

"This is good news for the communities of Brandon-Souris. The Gas Tax Fund will assist our local communities invest in critical infrastructure and help move projects in the right direction," said Larry Maguire.

The federal Gas Tax Fund provides municipalities with the flexibility to choose and plan infrastructure projects based on their specific priorities. The renewed agreements will govern the flow of federal funds to each province and territory over the next 10 years, from 2014-15 until 2023-24.

In total, the New Building Canada Plan will provide $53 billion in funding to communities across the country over the next decade. For Manitoba, this represents almost $1.2 billion in dedicated federal funding, including more than $467 million under the New Building Canada Fund and an estimated $713 million under the federal Gas Tax Fund.

Manitoba also stands to benefit from the Government of Canada's following national funding programs:

  • $4 billion available across the country for projects of national significance,

  • $1.25 billion in additional funding available for P3 projects,

  • $10.4 billion via the GST Rebate, which provides municipalities across the country with additional resources to address their infrastructure priorities.

Since 2006, significant improvements have been made to the Gas Tax Fund; it has been extended, doubled, indexed and made permanent. By enshrining these commitments in legislation, provinces, territories and municipalities are assured of an ongoing funding stream to address their municipal infrastructure needs and priorities.

Under the renewed Gas Tax Fund, eligible categories have also been expanded, providing municipalities with more flexibility than ever before to support local infrastructure.

Eligible investment categories under this Fund include: drinking water; wastewater; solid waste; public transit; local roads and bridges; community energy systems; capacity building; disaster mitigation; broadband connectivity; highways; short-line rail; brownfield redevelopment; regional and local airports; and projects supporting culture, tourism, sport and recreation.

With this agreement, the Government of Canada is ensuring a seamless transition to the New Building Canada Plan, the largest long-term federal commitment to investing in Canada's public infrastructure in our nation's history.




Be the first to comment

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.